Aroma Dolce in West Plains, Fine European Cuisine

I was of the understanding there would be Pakistani food. I was wrong. I’m not sure how the miscommunication happened.

Aroma Dolce Cafe and Bakery is always a delight serving up European food. They were unfortunately, out of Plov, so I settled for the Fettuccine Alfredo with chicken and broccoli. It was nicely presented with black olives, an aromatic lemon twist and a slice of delectable bread. The only complaint I have is about the four minute pieces of broccoli it contained. I don’t understand the inclusion of the word broccoli in a menu description if the amount isn’t going to amount to anything. Nonetheless it was excellent. As was the house salad; at $5.95 it was a large bowl of fresh romaine, olives and tomatoes dressed with parmesan and creamy Italian dressing, enough for 4 small salads or 2-3 large servings. The two of us were not able to finish it all.

Will had the beef dumplings which were presented with a hefty side of sour cream and a lovely whole romaine leaf. A bit plain and dry for my taste the filling was moist and tasty, and I’m a sucker for anything with that much sour cream.

They have “made from scratch” “in their own kitchen” desserts, baklava, puff pasties and 2 kinds of scrumptious looking cakes. The baklava was exceptionally tasty but a tad dry. I may be spoiled from my venture in Greece and the best Baklava in the world. One never knows.

The dining area was a little chilly for my taste although comfortable and roomy. It was and is always impeccably clean and tidy. The service was good, not great but good. I failed to visit the washroom. They don’t bring the ticket to your table requiring one to figure money maneuvers and calculate tip while at the cashier, then another trip back to the table if you are leaving a cash tip.

Overall, for this neck of the woods, the Ozarks, I rate Aroma Dolce a 4 out of a possible 5. They can be contacted via phone 417-256-3755 or e mail aromadolce_cafeandbakery@yahoo.com but don’t seem to have a website.

Do visit them if you are in West Plains.

This entry was posted in Restaurant Reviews and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Aroma Dolce in West Plains, Fine European Cuisine

  1. altonwoods says:

    Hello! I see you are something of a “foodie” and that you are also a friend of the Lumsden’s of Ala Carte Cafe fame as well as am I! Lovely blog you have here, there is civilization yet in these back woods hills and hollers!

    • Moonmooring says:

      Howdy, yes there is civilization and yes I am acquainted with the Lumsden’s and love the little cafe! Thank you for looking in here. I attempt to blog way too much. As you can see.

      I also seem to have fallen a bit behind in keeping an eye on things here!

      S.

  2. Moonmooring says:

    Aroma Dolce is currently closed. Sorry to say.

Leave a Reply

