Fruitcake Fruitcake Fruitcake, with a splash of Southern Comfort!

I’d like a little more than a splash please!

Since the last few years I have tried many fruitcake recipes and finally took the best from several of them to create my own. The traditional fruitcake I make is dark, rich, spicy and moist; filled with raisins, dates, cherries, walnuts and citron. It has creamy butter for richness and plenty of cinnamon, nutmeg and cloves with a bit of ginger. Walnuts or pecans either one will do as far as I am concerned. Then soak it in Southern Comfort! Soak it as long as you can wait.

Growing up I was never a fan of fruitcakes. I always thought they were kind of icky. I’m not sure what changed my mind, but sometime in my 30′s or so I had a serious change of heart. Wish I had a memory of the exact fruitcake that did it, but it’s not there.

Nowadays I can’t keep my hands or mouth off a good fruitcake. Now, many of you may be saying, “good and fruitcake in the same sentence… I don’t know about that”. I beg to differ! Rich, dark with spices and chock full of nuts and cherries… those are the ingredients a great fruitcake is made of. And the Southern Comfort. Lets not forget the Southern Comfort, one of the main ingredients!

Order you one (or two or three or maybe even a dozen!) here and set it to soak up some of your favorite cordial, whether it’s rum, brandy or bourbon. I’ll have mine soaked in Comfort!

Take a look at my Etsy store and order a fruitcake or other fun vintage or handmade items!

 

 

Fruitcake bites. Just enough for one great big bite or 2 reasonable bites! To be listed in the store soon.

This entry was posted in Food Talk and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Fruitcake Fruitcake Fruitcake, with a splash of Southern Comfort!

  1. Tina D. says:

    Yummy !!

Leave a Reply

